Timeless Isles. Timeless fools.

The Timeless Isle is not exactly new, I know, but I only visited it a few times before I un-subscribed from World of Warcraft. When I re-subbed one of the things I wanted to do, actually bother the complete the quest chain and so see where it lead.

Well it wasn’t that exciting, pretty much your common garden variety “go here, kill stuff come back” quests with the added bonus that a lot of the creatures and little treasure chests you find can drop tokens that convert into iLevel 596 goodies. Needless to say it’s is not long before you character has a lot of these items covering all armour classes that you can spread around your account, gearing up level 90 alts with out much effort. My characters get to look snazzy and I don’t have to spend hours in LRF/Flex/Normal raids hoping that there is an off chance I get a item of loot week in week out, those days I don’t miss.

Now I get to the reason for this little blog post, while I was in a group of players I met for the purpose of grinding Timeless Coins and Rep a pair of players was trying hard to trick people into flagging themselves “PvP” so they could attack others. Now I have met idiots like these before, back in the days when I clicked on mobs more often than I should (not even sure why I would even have done that now *shrug*). by moving back and forth over the mob you are attacking their hope is for you to accidentally select and attack them, flagging you pvp and they can then attack and kill your character. They get to feel big and clever, you get to waste game time on a pointless corpse run and maybe camped while they wait for you to respawn.

So there I am attacking  mob, hack, chop, slash, dodge huge frontal attack, repeat and these two idiots are running back and forth over the mob I am fighting in the vein hope I will click them and be flagged pvp. But as I know their trick already I am being extra careful to not click on screen, using my mouse and buttons to move and fingers on the keys to fire off my attacks. I even kitted my mob a few yards over but they followed me. What stuck me as odd was that they was speaking in English in /s which I thought was odd for Horde, they must have figured out the way the game converts Horde languages to English. That is when I noticed they was Alliance and somehow flagged openly pvp so that they could even attack fellow Alliance!

Once the mob was dead I moved to a safe spot and whispered one of them directly and asked “Was you really trying to get me to be flagged pvp so you could kill me?” I got a reply right away saying “Yes but you was too pussy!” I’m guessing this was meant to goad me into offering them a fight or something but I simply replied “lol You are so Burning Crusade!” never did get a reply back even after I sent the person whisper along the lines of “Nothing to say?”

What I felt was truly sad was that a couple of the people I was with said “Just let them kill you, they will only do it the once!” I just thought why the casual acceptance of this mild bullying in the game, because someone wants to get their jollies by pvping you? So I told my group that there is no way they are getting me flagged pvp and that they can fuck right off! There is a reason I play on a pve realm and that is I don’t want to be looking over my shoulder all the time waiting for some joker to attack me every 10 minutes.

So this round I will consider it a win in my favour.

Leave a comment