4.3 incoming and VP changes.

World of Warcraft patch 4.3 I think will soon be with us. How can I tell well I keep finding the Blizzard background downloader running repeatedly. Ok there has been so small hot fixes but I am still finding the downloader running even after those.

Well I do hope it is soon, personally I am getting bored of 4.2 and the Firelands dailies so much so that I have not actually done any of them for days, I’ve even had days where I have not even logged in or I have been making alts to run around with.

So while at the official Warcraft web site I found an article about an upcoming change to Valour Points in 4.3 and decided to have a look.

Blizzard GM/Dev Bashiok writes (original here)

We’ve made slight adjustments to the Valor Point (VP) drops on the 4.3 PTR which testers can now see. In both 10- and 25-player raids, bosses will now drop 100 VP each (down from 115 and 135 respectively). We’ll also be changing Firelands raid bosses to drop 50 VP per kill upon release of the patch.
This change is being made to further emphasize the desire to kill bosses for the items they drop. In the 4.3 raid, tier sets can only be earned from boss drops, and as Raid Finder will allow for just about anyone to get a chance to kill bosses, we think there will be less need for Valor overall. We want to try to match the lower desire for VP with a slightly slower acquisition rate.
We appreciate your thoughts and constructive discussion on how these changes may affect you and your guild once 4.3 is released.

The first reply to this post was inevitably by one of the wow-elite that seem to think the game is for them alone. Someone appropriately named Dribble who said “One step closer to eliminating welfare tier!” (source) but this asshat of a player was put in his place by my new favourite player ever Kozhere who replied:

“I, too, find it deeply personally troubling when people who are not me get things that are nice which I may own. Let’s go tut into our tea and wear top hats while dismissing those damn, dirty ‘casuals’ and their welfare epics.”

Well spoken that Troll. I like you. I been looking for a way to say exactly something like that for ages. I’ve never understood why what one player has and how they got it makes a difference. The level of people petty jealousness and elitism is a sad fact of modern gaming it seems.

Further thoughts/whining.

Now what concerns me is that as someone who does not raid this maybe a further kick in the teeth for my chances of completing a tier 11 armour set. Currently the Head and Shoulders of the 5 piece set require a token (each) from raiding. Now as raiding is something I don’t want to do, I was annoyed when they changed tier 11 from Valour points to the justice point vendor and still left the token requirement in.

Now Ok I’ll agree I don’t “need” raid tier armour set, how ever I do want to have a set, even if it is an out dated tier. Essentially Blizzard are saying to me that my money is worth less to them than someone who raids. Is it really asking for much that I too can have a set with a nice 2 and 4 piece set bonuses is it? well apparently it is.

Earned the right, damn right!

Towards the end of Wrath of the Lick King expansion they allowed players to buy a full set of tier 9 for badges/justice points (I can never remember). The set was called Turalyon’s and it was the last set of Paladin armour that actually made any sense, since then the designers have been at the drugs and produced some ugly armour sets. I worked my arse off in Heroics to get the badges so that I had the Retribution and Protection sets. Putting up with all those people in PuGs meant I EARNED the right to wear that armour!

tier9_paladin
The Alliance set looked better but was a brighter
version of the Warrior (and Death Knight iirc) set.
The rest can be viewed here.

As I am still being kept from completing a set of tier 11 armour by Blizzard it makes little sense for them to allow me access to tier 12 (normal) raid armour, well at least the chest, leggings and gloves (again) but they have. So once again I am in a position to get 3 out of 5 of the tier 12 raid armour set but have to now raid Firelands to get the tokens to complete that set. *sigh*

The end result of Blizzard indecision is that I have kind of given up even trying to get the last 2 items for both Banhammer and Saintangus to the point I have rolled (too) many new characters. A thin ray of hope is that in patch 4.3 Chaos orbs are now being made bind on equip also with a few new dungeons being added and the Deathwing raid with it’s tier 13 armour set (chicken armour for Paladins *groan* Blizzard might actually remove the token requirement for tier 11 (and maybe tier 12) armour sets.

Leave a Reply

