Failing again *big fucking sigh*

I tried the other day to get a few heroics in and the first group I got wiped twice and fell apart, Group two was the same so I left when it was only me and 1 other DPS left in group. I logged out at this point and hadn’t gone back to WoW for 2 days.

Today I felt it was going to be different, today I was up beat and confident. Two (part) heroics later I am left with 140 Justice points and a repair bill of 106g! fucking hell it’s like all the idiots in the world (of Warcraft) have turned up to play the game over the last few weeks. It’s got to a point where I do not want to go into an instance anymore and in many ways that was more only real source of entertainment left in this game.

Remaining Positive!

With up upbeat attitude in tow I queued for a random Heroic, I didn’t fancy bashing Trolls in the face today so I didn’t choose the Zandalari Heroics, the LFD tool (looking for dungeon) said 16 minute wait, not to bad truth be told so off I went to do a daily cooking heroic while I waited. The “upbeatness” was about to be bitch slapped out of me HARD!

The problem with the players of today isn’t that they are essentially bad, they may even play with a completely different attitude when raiding with their guild but it would seem the LFD brings out the worst in people or at least it brings out an over exaggerated sense of either quality or immortality sometimes both.

Tanks

You tend to find Tanks who think they are immortal or at least without evidence to the contrary assume the healer has the “one button heals it all” kind of set up that means they (the tank) will not die. Who then proceed to pull larger and larger packs without even waiting to see if the healer or the DPS chorus is even ready!

Healers

This has to be the player you’ll have least trouble with, ok you’ll get healers who have no business being healers (like me, don’t worry I never heal) because they just don’t have the skill for it (like me). Or on the rare occasion you’ll get one that is firmly convinced that they can DPS and heal at the same time, the net result is someone will die while they are casting some ridiculously long DPS spell rather than healing.

Damage Dealers

Where to begin with the DPS? the DPS seem to have part of the tanks attitude with regards to their immortality. They are firm in the belief that the healer is focussed on keeping them alive! “They have to be because I am the best player here!!” But there is a small distinction between the DPS and the tank which is that there is an automatic assumption on the behalf of the DPS’er, that the tank will taunt any mob that they feel like pulling if the DPS thinks the group is not going fast enough through the instance (I’m looking at you Hunters!)

Not me I didn’t do it!

With all that in mind there is also automatic response by many to deny any responsibility or alternatively point the finger of blame as quick as they can. I call this the “Game of Blame and Denial!”. (Book 7 in the “A song of Ice and Fire” series? lol) In many ways it’s not always clear cut who is to blame and as long as that person (they know who they are) learns from the mistake (we hope) it’s immaterial if they admit it or not. But as humans we like to either blame someone or deny out right any responsibility.

This attitude is becoming more prevalent in game, the whole “Not me, it was them because I am under the impression that I am immortal and you are noobs!” package. Which breaks groups on fights and can break groups although why would you take a time penalty over trying to complete an instance is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

