Why I hate THQ but don’t really.

When I was 16 many years ago back in the dizzle, a friend of my introduced me to Games Workshop. Back in those days they was still selling other peoples game systems and miniatures but what caught my eye was the recently released Warhammer 40,000: Rogue Trader rule book.

Rogue_trader_cover

The cover of the book that has spurred an long time love of Warhammer 40,000.
The cover art was so inspirational, I didn’t know who they where but the “last stand” fighting back to back with an unseen enemy was just mind blowing for my 16 year old brain.

I purchased this book and have never looked back since. While I did play a few games, well just a few goes at the starter mission “battle at the Farm” I spent more time reading the rules and all the back ground information or “fluff” as we call it. Since then I have bought each successive version of Warhammer 40k and many of the associated products i.e. Necromunda, Space Hulk, Battlefleet Gothic, Gorkamorka and even Epic 40k (Or Adeptus Titanicus/Space Marine as it was originally called. (I even bought the Inquisitor rule book, although I have no idea why if was awful and I was never really into D&D style games.)

Fire Warrior and the Dawn of War.

So with this love that has lasted decades I was pleased to hear (ok this is going back a little now) that there was finally going to be a decent FPS based in the 40k universe called Fire warrior made by THQ sadly it fucking sucked! Graphically ir was so poor, in fact I would go aas far as to say it was a straight port from the PS2 to PC and it showed. Compared to other games out at the time THQ should have been ashamed to release that. I bought it Saturday afternoon and took it back to the shop in disgust by the same time Sunday. I thought this would be the end of the 40k franchise but lucky for the gaming world THQ saved the day with the Dawn of War series. Now DoW was not without it’s issues and for me was far from perfect but to finally see Space marines in power armour and terminator armour pounding the electronic battle field was a dream come true.

Showing the love.

So enamoured with the DoW game I bought all the expansions and enjoyed spending hours playing the campaigns and couldn’t wait for Dawn of War 2 sadly DoW2 was just prettier, maybe a few tweak but that was about it. Next we have the “All glory to the Hypnotoad” moment in THQ’s 40k series of game which is Space Marine. OMG this game is just magnificent, stomping around in my power armour shooting, stab, chopping, barging, exploding and all round bitch slapping Orks by the hundreds is just awesome! *drool* Online play too, character customisation even DLC *boo!* skins to represent different chapters. This game has it all yet it seem it doesn’t, finally THQ have got a 40k game spot on and what are they doing with it? They are walking away and leaving it behind, as I read in this article from Eurogamer. |>Source<| Apparently there will not be room for development for it considering the 2013 release date for the Warhammer 40k MMO. Pfft. To add insult to injury the story line for Space Marine is left hanging in limbo, with this news in mind that is where it will stay.

To me this is an unforgivable sin on behalf of THQ, the story needs to be told or at least finished, I just hope THQ have the common decency to at least make a short campaign DLC or at least publish the full story so we can see what happens in the end. Otherwise THQ will feel my hate : P

Leave a Reply

